Friday, December 2

Soludo close to victory as APC reject result.

Share this:

The All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) candidate, Prof Charles Soludo, is coasting home to victory in the Anambra State governorship election.

According to the results so far released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the professor of economics and former Central Bank of Nigeria Governor has won majority votes in 18 out of 20 local governments declared so far.

Collation of results will continue after tomorrow’s supplementary election in Ihiala Local Government Area, where the election did not hold.

Returning Officer, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Calabar, Prof Florence Banku-Obi, said a valid declaration of a winner could not be made without the supplementary poll.

“It is important to complete the election before a determination can be made,” she said, explaining that the election did not hold in Ihiala due to logistics challenges caused by security threats.

The Young Progressives Party (YPP) candidate, Senator Ifeanyi Ubah, won Nnewi North council, while Valentine Ozigbo of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) won Ogbaru council.

Soludo defeated the Minister of Labour and Employment, Senator Chris Ngige in his Idemili South local government.

He also defeated his closest rivals, Senator Andy Uba of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Ozigbo in their native Aguata council.

Soludo won in Dunukofia, Awka North, Awka South, Oyi, Ayamelum, Anaocha, Anambra East, Idemili North, Idemili South, Onitsha North, Onitsha South, Njikoka, Nnewi South, Anambra West, Aguata, Orumba South, Orumba North and Ekwusigo local governments.

However, the Returning Officers of Ihiala and Orumba South local governments claimed that elections did not take place in their areas.

They attributed the problem to mutilation of figures, violence, threats to life, and failure of the Bimodal Voter Accreditation System BVAS.

The ongoing collation of results yesterday took another dimension, following altercations between the Collation Officer for Orumba North Local Government Area and her Electoral Officer, Comfort Omoruyi.

The collation officer, Dr. Micheal Otu, had declared no results in the area, alleging that he signed the election results under duress.

He accused the INEC officials, particularly the Electoral Officer attached to him, of conniving with those who allegedly disrupted the process.

LGA                APC              APGA            PDP             YPP
•Dunukofia      1991             4124            1680              1360
•Awka South   2595           12891            5498             919
•Oyi                   2830           6133             2484             900
•Anaocha         2085           6911              5108              868
•Anambra East  2034        9746             1380              559
•Ayamelum       2409         3424             2804             407
•Idemili South   1039        2312              2016               752
•Onitsha South  2050       4281             2253                271
•Njikoka            3216          8803             3409              924
•Nnewi North  1278          3369             1511                6485
•Orumba South  2060      4394             1672              887
•Onitsha North  3909        5587             3781              682
•Aguata               4773         9136            3798             1070
•Ogbaru              1178          3051              3445             484
•Idemili North   2291         5358            2312              902
•Ekwusigo        1237           2570            1857              727
•Nnewi South     1307         3243          2226            1327
•Anambra West  1233         1918           1401              357
•Awka North      755           1908            840               381
•Orumba North  *2875       *4787        *1847 –
•Ihiala – – –

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *